This episode dives into the Stages of Change Model, a powerful tool for understanding and navigating personal growth. Hosts Duane and Eric explore the six stages: pre-contemplation, contemplation, preparation, action, maintenance, and relapse. They emphasize the model’s humanistic approach, acknowledging that change is a non-linear journey with room for setbacks and restarts. Learn how to identify your current stage, overcome obstacles, and move towards lasting positive change.

Key Topics:

  • The six stages of the Stages of Change Model
  • Recognizing your current stage of change
  • Overcoming challenges in each stage
  • Moving from contemplation to action
  • The role of relapse in the change process
  • Applying the model to personal growth and addiction recovery


  • Introduction (00:00-01:00)
  • Overview of the Stages of Change Model (01:00-03:32)
  • Deep Dive into the Six Stages (03:32-10:47)
  • Addressing Criticisms and Benefits of the Model (10:47-12:26)
  • Practical Applications and Resources (12:26-15:39)


Download a free worksheet on the Stages of Change Model!

Follow and Review:

We’d love for you to follow us if you haven’t yet. Click that purple ‘+’ in the top right corner of your Apple Podcasts app. We’d love it even more if you could drop a review or 5-star rating over on Apple Podcasts. Simply select “Ratings and Reviews” and “Write a Review” then a quick line with your favorite part of the episode. It only takes a second and it helps spread the word about the podcast.

Supporting Resources:

If you live in California and are looking for counseling or therapy please check out Novus Mindful Life Counseling and Recovery Center

We want to hear from you. Leave us a message or ask us a question: