In this episode of The Addicted Mind, hosts Duane and Eric Osterlind explore the profound connection between grief and addiction recovery. Using Elizabeth Kübler-Ross’s five stages of grief—denial, anger, bargaining, depression, and acceptance—they discuss how these stages apply to the emotional process of giving up an addiction. Many people don’t realize that overcoming addiction involves grieving the loss of the substance that has been a significant part of their lives. By understanding and embracing these stages, individuals can move more effectively through their recovery journey. Tune in to learn how recognizing and processing grief can lead to a deeper sense of acceptance and a more fulfilling life in recovery.


Key Topics

  • The five stages of grief and their application to addiction recovery
  • The hidden grief of giving up addiction
  • Emotional challenges and identity loss in recovery
  • The non-linear nature of the grief process
  • Tools and support for navigating grief in recovery

Key Moments

  1. [00:01:00] Introduction to the topic of grief in recovery
  2. [00:02:00] Discussion on the grief of giving up an addiction
  3. [00:04:00] Explanation of the five stages of grief
  4. [00:06:30] Deep dive into the anger stage and its impact
  5. [00:09:00] Exploring the depression stage and identity loss
  6. [00:11:30] Moving towards acceptance and its significance in recovery
  7. [00:14:10] Announcement of the worksheet and deeper dive session


      Follow and Review: We’d love it even more if you could drop a review or 5-star rating over on Apple Podcasts. Simply select “Ratings and Reviews” and “Write a Review” then a quick line with your favorite part of the episode. It only takes a second and it helps spread the word about the podcast.

      Supporting Resources:

      If you live in California and are looking for counseling or therapy please check out Novus Mindful Life Counseling and Recovery Center

      We want to hear from you. Leave us a message or ask us a question: